South West Delhi District shares its borders with West Delhi, Central Delhi, New Delhi, South Delhi, Gurgaon and Haryana State Districts with Jhajjar Haryana District on the west. It holds a population of over 17.5 Lakhs and covers an area of 420 Sq. Km.

The District of South West Delhi is administratively managed by the Deputy Commissioner followed by an Additional District Magistrate or ADM who acts as a support head and reports to the DC. The function of the ADM is to manage Land Acquisitions of the district, any land possession grievances and assessment of the compensation for land taken over for public purposes.

The South West District is sub divided into 3 subdivisions that is each managed by the Sub Divisional Magistrate or SDM. Each subdivision has a revenue and clerical staff that manage specific functions relating to its respective sub districts. Of the three sub districts, Najafgarh is still considered as a predominately rural area while Delhi Cantonment and Vasant Vihar Sub Divisions homes a blend of urban and rural zones.

The Deputy Commissioner of the South West Delhi District is also responsible as a designated joint Chief Electoral officer that looks into election related duties. In this field, the DC is assisted by all the respective SDMs and SDM (Election). The Office of the Sub Registrar of the South West Delhi district that falls under the direct supervision of the Office of the DC handles the registration of documents. This Office is headed by the Block Development Officer or BDO and is responsible for the custody of Gaon Sabha land and the promotion of Agriculture, Horticulture and Developmental activities of the Village areas within the sub districts. The NIC Centre of this District facilitates the IT division and computerization that connects the South West Delhi district to the other parts of the globe via the internet.

Apart from the aforementioned functions, the Office of the Deputy Commissioner of South West Delhi District offers a variety of services to the public that includes the functions of LHA under prevention of food Adulteration Act, Issue of certificates, Loans for self employment, Miscellaneous functions under various acts, rules and control orders, Registration of Documents, Registration of Marriage, Regulatory functions under Environment protection Act, Relief & Rehabilitation, Services pertaining to ownership of land and Stamping of Documents to mention a few.

The South West Delhi District encompasses areas such as the famous Dwarka Sub city, Sagar Pur, Dhaula Kuan [which is a major intersection of roads and flyovers that links various parts Delhi. It also refers to the neighbourhood that surrounds and serves the intersection], Moti Bagh, a few parts of Vasant Kunj [Residential cum Commercial complex], Dashrath Puri, Naraina [which constitutes of an Industrial, Residential and Rural area. This area is situated adjacent to the western part of the Ring Road and lies between Dhaula Kuan and Rajouri Garden. It is surrounded by other areas that include Delhi Cantt, IARI or Pusa, Inderpuri, Mayapuri, Patel Nagar, Ranjitnagar, Satyam Park and Shadipur Depot] and R. K. Puram [also known as ‘Ramakrishna Puram’ that houses residential colonies of Government Employees in South West Delhi. It is named after Saint Sri Ramakrishna and was constructed during the 1950s after the government acquired land from Munirka farmers. This area is known as one of the oldest developments in Delhi that was built for housing Central Government employees and is seen divided into 13 Sectors. It is enclosed by the Ring Road on the north, the Outer Ring Road on the south, Africa Avenue on the east and Rao Tula Ram Marg on the west. The North-eastern edge of R K Puram houses a commercial complex known as Madam Bhikaji Cama Place].

The South West Delhi District has a very well distinguished historical background that homes the Domestic and International Airport of Delhi, the largest suburb of Asia which is the Dwarka sub city and Fun ‘N’ Food Village Water and Amusement Park offering amusement rides, water pools and slides.

Please click on the links below for more information about the three sub districts of South West Delhi.

The other main Areas under South West Delhi has been mentioned below with links for your convenience.