Contact Information:
Address: Hauz Khas, New Delhi – 110 016
Phone: + 91 – 11 – 2658 2222 , + 91 – 11 – 2658 1696
Fax: + 91 – 11 – 2658 2037 , + 91 – 11 – 2658 2277
Email: [email protected]

The Indian Institute Of Technology commonly known as IIT – Delhi or just IIT – D is situated at Hauz Khas in South Delhi. It was initially known as the College of Engineering and Technology – Delhi and is a premier Engineering Institute in India that forms a part of other IITs in India such as the Indian Institute of Technology in Bhubaneswar, Gandhinagar, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Indore, Jodhpur, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Madras, Mandi, Mumbai, Patna, Roorkee and Ropar.

IIT – Delhi was formerly established as a College of Engineering and Technology [CET] on 21st August 1961 and its foundation stone was laid by His Royal Highness, Prince Philip, who was the Duke of Edinburgh and the Institute was inaugurated by Prof. Humayun Kabir, who was then Union Minister for Scientific Research and Cultural Affairs. Later, within its two years of operation, CET was upgraded to an Institute by the Parliament of India and was renamed as the Indian Institute of Technology – Delhi. The main building was formally opened on 2nd March 1968 by Dr. Zakir Hussain, who was then the President of India.

IIT – Delhi has a total of 13 Academic Departments, 11 Multi-disciplinary centres and 2 Schools of Excellence that offer over 700 courses every semester.

The 13 Academic Departments in IIT – Delhi can be categorised as Applied Mechanics, Biochemical Engineering and Biotechnology, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Department of Humanities and Social Science, Electrical Engineering, Management Studies, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics & Textile Technology.

The IIT – Delhi also features an Inter-Disciplinary Centre that differs from a Department. This Centre deals with an overlap of two or more disciplines of Science or Engineering. It offers programmes only at the post-graduation level and the following multi-disciplinary centres include the Centre for Applied Research in Electronics (CARE), Centre for Atmospheric Sciences (CAS), Centre for Biomedical Engineering (CBME), Centre for Energy Studies (CES), Centre for Polymer Science and Engineering (CPSE), Centre for Rural Development and Technology (CRDT), Computer Services Centre (CSC), Educational Technology Services Centre (ETSC), Industrial Tribology, Machine Dynamics and Maintenance Engineering (ITMMEC), Instrument Design Development Centre (IDDC) & National Resource Centre for Value Education in Engineering (NRCVEE).

The School of Excellence in IIT – Delhi is externally funded by an alumnus or an organization; however, it functions as a part of the IIT – Delhi Institute. These Schools in IIT – Delhi include the ‘Amar Nath and Shashi Khosla School of Information Technology’, ‘Bharti School of Telecommunication Technology and Management’ & the ‘School of Biological Sciences’.

The IIT- Delhi campus spans over a massive area of 320 acres and overlooks the beautiful ancient monuments such as the Qutub Minar and the Lotus Temple. It also lies in close proximity to other renowned Universities such as the All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University and the Indian Statistical Institute.

The IIT – Delhi campus is no less than a self sufficient sub city in itself. It is dressed with numerous gardens and lush green lawns embedded with tall trees. It also homes a few residential complexes and is seen with well maintained wide roads and pathways. The campus is provided with its own water supply and backup electricity supply. It also homes its own shopping complexes to cater to the daily and essential needs of residents and hence ensure a convenient boarding for all its staff, faculty members and students.

The IIT – Delhi campus is divided into four zones that include;

  • The ‘Academic Zone’ – This Zone comprises of department offices, lecture theatres, libraries and workshops.
  • The ‘Faculty and Staff Residential Zone’
  • The ‘Student Recreational Area’ – This Zone comprise of the Student Activity Center or ‘SAC’, basketball courts, a cricket ground, a football stadium, hockey field and lawn tennis courts. This zone forms a part of the ‘Student Recreation Zone’ in IIT Delhi and organises extracurricular activities of the students. The SAC houses three squash courts, two table tennis rooms, a badminton court, a gymnasium, swimming pool, a music room, pool and billiards rooms, a fine arts room, a robotics room and a committee room which is used for organising quizzes and debates. The SAC also features an ‘Open Air Theatre’ that hosts a variety of concerts and events. It also features radio broadcasting facility that was used by Students but its importance and use has unfortunately declined over the years.
  • ‘Student Residential Zone’ – This Zone is further divided into two sections; one that houses the Men’s Hostels and the other sector that houses the Women’s Hostels respectively. IIT Delhi offers a total of 12 hostels of which 10 are for male students and 2 for female students. It also provides apartments for married students. These Hostels are distinctively named after a mountain range in India such as the ‘Aravalli’, ‘Girnar’, ‘Himadri’, ‘Jwalamukhi’, ‘Kailash’, ‘Karakoram’, ‘Kumaon’, ‘Nilgiri’, ‘Satpura’, ‘Shivalik’, ‘Vindhyachal’ and Zanskar while the residential apartments are named after ancient Indian universities such as ‘Nalanda’ and ‘Taxila’. The ‘Jwalamukhi House’ comprise of the largest number of resident students and each Hostel has its distinct cultural activities and sports events. Residents representing each Hostel compete in the inter-hostel events to win the RCA and GC Trophies which are considered as the highest awards for cultural and sports accomplishments that are accessed over a year for all the Hostels. In 2010, the RCA Award was claimed by the ‘Jwalamukhi House’ and in 2011; it was claimed by the ‘Kumaon House’. Each Academic year ends with a ‘House day’ annual function organised by the Hostels wherein the passing-out batch of students and the first year students showcase various cultural performances and after which awards are distributed for outstanding contribution towards the various hostel activities.